Monday, 26 September 2011

Remembering Kuching City Day

Kuching declared as city (Bandaraya) on 1st of August 1988,which is the 4th City declared in Malaysia.This is a list of cities of Malaysia. In Malaysia, there are populated areas which are granted city status by law (bandar raya). However, there are also highly urbanised and populated areas which does not have city status, but are sometimes colloquially also referred to as cities. City status is granted to a place within a local government area. Other populated areas which does not have city status are legally categorised as a municipality or town.

    1.George Town (1 Januari 1957; status kini dipertikai)
    2.Kuala Lumpur (1 Februari 1972)
    3.Ipoh (27 Mei 1988)
    4.Kuching Utara dan Selatan (1 Ogos 1988)
    5.Johor Bahru (1 Januari 1994)
    6.Kota Kinabalu (2 Februari 2000)
    7.Shah Alam (10 Oktober 2000)
    8.Bandar Melaka (15 April 2003)
    9.Alor Setar (21 Disember 2003)
    10.Miri (20 Mei 2005)
    11.Petaling Jaya (20 Jun 2006)
    12.Kuala Terengganu (1 Januari 2008

Sunday, 11 September 2011